Winter wonder

I wake to the all too familiar sound  of the garbage truck across the way.  I’m a good 50 yards from it and after 5 years here I usually don’t hear it.   But wait, is that what woke me ?   Another winter sound I think… Scrapping ice from windshield!  I pause. I listen. Eracharrrahrrach like fingernails on a blackboard…

I mentally review the day asking after each task pops in… Do I have to drive to accomplish this?  Quickly I check the weather. Is it supposed to get above freezing? Sun? More precipitation likely?

I lie back on my pillow. A little Scarlett O’hara calls out in my head…” I’ll think about this tomorrow” (ok 6 minutes from now)  ” I’ll go to Tara!!!”  Or maybe back to sleep.

And then

New scrapping begins… I’m up. That’s all there is to it!

6:50 am is too early in January…

would you bring me some Coffee please?  I’ll wait right here. Thanks

 

God abides

Bobbie Giltz McGarey

Leave a Reply

